Skip To Main Content
Mougins School
our british curriculum at mougins school with great challenges

Curriculum at Mougins School

We believe in educating students to become global citizens of the future.

What does this mean? Helping them to develop lifelong values, explore the world around them, collaborate with others, and take responsibility for their own learning. In this way our students leave school as well-rounded individuals, along with meeting all the learning goals for each Key Stage, and completing the IGCSE and A-level examinations. Students can follow their entire learning journey with us, from early years through to A-level, ensuring consistency and stability.

During their time at Mougins School, students develop:

  • Flexibility, adaptability and resilience
  • A commitment to lifelong learning
  • A social and environmental consciousness; respect for the common good
  • Skills in building relationships, communicating and collaborating
  • Scientific, mathematical, and technical literacy
  • Rigorous and independent critical thinking
  • Powers of innovation, invention and creativity
  • Communication, influence and leadership

Educational stages at Mougins School

The British education system is divided into learning chapters, called Key Stages, as follows:

Early Years Foundation Stage (ages 3 to 5)

  • Nursery and Reception Classes

Key Stage 1: primary education

  • Years 1 & 2 (ages 5 to 7)

Key Stage 2: primary education

  • Years 3-6 (ages 7 to 11)

Key Stage 3: secondary education

  • Years 7-9 (ages 11 to 14)

Key Stage 4: secondary education

  • Years 10-11 (age 14-16), culminating in IGCSEs

Key Stage 5: post-16 education

  • Years 12 & 13 (ages 16 to 18 years), culminating in A-level and/or BTEC examinations


                   For equivalency between British, French and American school years click here


We monitor our students’ progress through continuous assessment during each school year with evaluations at the end of each Key Stage. We use both of these tools to build an overall picture of each child’s progress. Continuous assessment means we are able to adapt our teaching to meet the needs of each student quickly and with flexibility.

At the end of Key Stage 4, at age 16, students take the IGCSE exams, and then A-levels and/or BTEC exams at age 18. These qualifications are highly regarded worldwide, allowing our students to be accepted at the best universities in the UK, France, USA, Canada, Europe, and further afield.

our british curriculum at mougins school with great challenges

Toggle Language Desktop

Toggle Language Mobile